A Nice day !

Well… you could say it was a last minute decision to go to SSN today.

Kichu “Prashanth” called me up yest. and told me that I should participate in the Solo Classical Singing event today.

Today morning, I took my bike to college, and waited for the 8:30 bell before I asked HOD if I could leave. He was furious, shouted at me, blasted me etc etc. However, he did sign the gate pass. Cool ! That was our passport to SSN.

Off we went on the Old Mahabalipuram Road for a 22 Km ride to SSN. We reached there in some 30-35 minutes. We soon found the mini-auditorium where I was to sing.. The event coordinator happened to be an old friend of mine.. The minute Prashanth saw her, he went into a good mood (err..)

And as usual, Prashanth and I started playing our usual game. “Evaluating” opponents by their looks, for the fun of it. We did that last during the Infy interview. While others were busy preparing for the HR round, working on puzzles, working on Technical questions, and sharing information about Infosys Corp. and all sorts of crap, Prashanth and I sat idle, looking at HR managers, and evaluting their “Stern” factor by looking at their impassive and un-emotional faces. (hey Prashanth.. remember “Sterny”.. our favourite ?).. wonder if they will show the same faces to their wives as well :))

Well.. I waited for my turn to sing, and sang.

Next on, Prashanth and I went on to some Tamil Literary events. They were awesome fun. Prashanth won the 1st place in an event, in which you had to transliterate Movie titles. There were lot of creative names like

“Samsaram adhu minsaran” – “My current wife”

“King kong” – “Kodura Korangu” (Prashanth)

“Mummy returns”- “Amma vandhachu”

“Vasantha Maligai” – “The Whitehouse”

and some more…

Well.. then Prashanth and I decided to leave.  I took a minor deviation from Kelambakkam, and told Prashanth his most-dreaded abbreviation “E-C-R”.. Prashanth was paralysed and tried in vain to make me change route 🙂 dint work out.

we soon reached home, having driven a total of 68 kms during the entire round trip.

The same evening, I drove my family to Aradhana Theater on ECR to watch Mozhi. It was a run-off-the-mill story.

A 9 step algorithm for any tamil movie of today is as follows:

1. Hero sees heroine in public place

2. He flirts shamelessly, falls in love

3. He proposes, at the behest of a friend

4. proposal turned down

5. Intermission

6. Adamant heroine not accepting hero

7. Hero does something for heroine’s family/friend

8. Proposal accepted

9. No move goes beyond here bub !

Sheesh.. love is so casual in movies..

In all, today was a nice day.. with lot of driving and a bit of singing !

Thanks to Prashanth for all this ! 🙂

2 Responses to A Nice day !

  1. Sundar says:

    Hey I thought Mozhi was different from run-of-the-mill stories from what I heard people say…

    I was with you at the infy interview too remember? We turned out to be the most nonchalant people of the lot.

    Sundar
    WIYOATS.

  2. tdsmapper says:

    Oh yeah ! You were there too ! But more than the HR managers, you were interested in the girls around us :p

Leave a Reply

